This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Black Screen

michelllabruyere

Tue Jul 31, 2018 10:41:05 am

Hi there,

I'm new to Zorin OS and installed the latest version. Ran a bootable USB and everything went really smooth. I had to adjust the "Realtek Wifi problem" with drivers 8723be but that solved itself rather quickly. Overall I was really impressed with Zorin so I intend to keep it.

The only problem is that after booting and selecting Zorin OS (I dual-boot with WIN10) the screen keeps turning black. I've searched around on the net, ran the system updates (sudo get-apt update and -upgrade). Secure boot is disabled. I haven't been able to change to nomodeset. I could give that a try but have to run that trough command line upon start up (since I can't get into the GUI).

Anyway, it's a real bummer. It used to work so smooth, but the black screen, well can't do anything with that. Which is a pity, because I love to work in Linux. Also Zorin looks really like something for me so i'm not leaving this boat untill it can't be fixed anymore.

Here are my systems specs.

HP Pavillion Notebook
Intel(R) core(TM) i5-7200U CPU @250GHz 2.71GHz
8GB RAM
64 Bits, X64-processor
Intel(R) HD-graphics 620 graphics driver
Realtek 8723be Wireless driver

Dual boot
Windows partition of around 450GB
Zorin partition of around 450GB
EFI system partition of 250mb
3 smaller partitions used to be for Opensuse (which I still have to remove. It might be worth mentioning that I experienced similar problems here)
16MB partition (empty)

I run Zorin OS 12 (core) and Win10.

If anyone can give me a pointer where to look that would be amazing.

Thanks already from a novice Linux enthusiast;

Swarfendor437

Tue Jul 31, 2018 11:53:16 am