This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Trouble Dual Booting with Windows 10

RexFlorida

Wed Jan 02, 2019 2:17:08 am

Hello,

I'm new to Linux and know just enough about working with operating systems to get myself in trouble which is what I appear to have done. I just installed Zorin OS 12.4 Core 64-bit on its own partition with a second partition for Swap in the hope of dual booting with Windows 10 (upgraded from Windows 7). I have an Intel Core i3 530 with a 1 terabyte hard drive and 17 Gb RAM. Windows is on NTFS formatted drives. I chose the "Other" option and installed to partitions that I had created earlier. I answered the question about the boot record by installing it to \. Now, when I start the computer it goes right to Grub and there appear to be entries for Windows 7 and Windows 10. But when I choose them they take me somewhere that does not get me into Windows. When I choose to boot into Zorin it works fine. Is there a way to get Grub pointing in the right direction to get me into Windows 10 without uninstalling? I've read a number of your installation/dual booting threads and none have described that problem. I also watched a couple videos you all recommended (after the fact) and am wishing I had seen the one on non-traditional installation beforehand. The next part of the question is, if I do have to undo what I have done, how do I restore the Windows MBR when I can't get into Windows? Thank you for your help.

RexFlorida

Swarfendor437

Wed Jan 02, 2019 4:07:34 pm