This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Zorin changes my MS 10 time to 6 hours ahead

hurkeybird

Tue Jun 18, 2019 12:49:24 am

My clock in Zorin 15 shows 7:45 PM June 17, 2019. When I reboot to MS 10 the clock there shows 1:45 AM June 18, 2019. If I correct the time to the correct time while in MS 10 then reboot to Zorin 15 then the Zorin clock is off -6 hours. Someone PLEASE tell me how I can fix this and show the correct date/time in both OS's.

Swarfendor437

Tue Jun 18, 2019 12:17:46 pm

hurkeybird

Wed Jun 19, 2019 3:29:15 am

I am on Zorin 15 OS core install and since I'm new to Linux I don't have the foggiest idea of where to enter the following:

Changing Linux to use local time is easier and more reliable than changing Windows to use UTC, so dual-boot Linux/Windows systems tend to use local time.

Since Ubuntu Intrepid (8.10), the hardware clock is set to UTC by default.

Make Linux use ‘Local’ time
To tell your Ubuntu system that the hardware clock is set to ‘local’ time:

1. edit /etc/default/rcS

2. Set UTC=yes if your hardware clock is set to UTC (GMT), or UTC=no to have the hardware clock set to local time.

PLEASE HELP

Aravisian

Wed Jun 19, 2019 6:08:47 am

hurkeybird wrote:I am on Zorin 15 OS core install and since I'm new to Linux I don't have the foggiest idea of where to enter the following:

Changing Linux to use local time is easier and more reliable than changing Windows to use UTC, so dual-boot Linux/Windows systems tend to use local time.

1. edit /etc/default/rcS

2. Set UTC=yes if your hardware clock is set to UTC (GMT), or UTC=no to have the hardware clock set to local time.

PLEASE HELP

Hurkey,let's try the app menu, first.