This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

GRUB issues

enstain

Fri Aug 02, 2019 1:13:00 pm

Hello,

I am new to Zorin and Linux. Windows 7 service time is coming to an end, so I have decided to move on to Linux, since I don't do much gaming anymore and most programs I use now are opensource and run on Linux anyway. I have been struggling with installation for a while, but finally managed to get it working (somehow the image from the website downloads badly, but the one from sourcefoge is fine).
The problem is that after the automatic installation, something got screwed up with windows 7 and I can not get it to start via grub. If I use the BIOS to select the boot drive, windows starts normally.
My system has 3 HDD and 1 SSD drives. The SSD drive is where windows and their system reserved partition are (which got unhidden after Zorin installation), then two 1 TB drives are striped (RAID0) and the additional drive serves as important file backup. Now the Linux system got installed in a 100 GB unallocated space I had in the Striped drive. I do not know what configuration the system installed itself in, since I used the automatic installation option.
The Grub shows boot options for Zorin and 2 Windows 7 (I only have one thought) on SDD1 and SDD2. The SDD1 boots into windows recovery and SDD2 eventually boots into grub>_ command line.
I have a feeling that something got mixed up during the installation due to my unusual disk setup (which is that way because it's too much work to undo the RAID0 at this point...). Could anyone help me sort it out? I have very limited previous experience with either Linux or GRUB and any internet answers I have managed to find do not really match my situation.

Thank you for your time and support

mdiemer

Fri Aug 02, 2019 7:07:23 pm