[SOLVED] not enough free space on /boot

Re: not enough free space on /boot

Postby hadisch » Sat Sep 14, 2019 8:57 pm

It is exactly like that. As far as I know, a separate boot partition is only necessary if you encrypt your entire system.
On my system I only have partitions for root, swap, home and timeshift. On my old laptop I had an encrypted system at times, in which case a separate boot partition was required.
User avatar
hadisch
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2019 5:55 pm
Location: Germany

Re: not enough free space on /boot

Postby Swarfendor437 » Sat Sep 14, 2019 10:42 pm

That is all I ever do. But if your motherboard has EFI then you will also need an ESP partition.
https://vimeo.com/user15592214
https://www.deviantart.com/swarfendor437
https://trisquel.info/

Machine: ASUS X470-PRO, AMD Ryzen 7 1700X 8 Core, 16 Gb RAM, ZOTAC Geforce GT1030 (2 Gb)
User avatar
Swarfendor437
 
Posts: 11875
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:51 pm

Re: not enough free space on /boot

Postby carmar » Sun Sep 15, 2019 12:37 am

Very useful stuff I was unaware of. Thanks, both. Now I know about timeshift and ESP partitions too.
User avatar
carmar
 
Posts: 188
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2019 4:02 pm

Re: not enough free space on /boot

Postby hadisch » Sun Sep 15, 2019 8:12 am

Swarfendor437 wrote:That is all I ever do. But if your motherboard has EFI then you will also need an ESP partition.


Interesting, I did not know that yet. I have never had to deal with EFI.
User avatar
hadisch
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2019 5:55 pm
Location: Germany

Re: not enough free space on /boot

Postby Swarfendor437 » Sun Sep 15, 2019 12:01 pm

hadisch wrote:
Swarfendor437 wrote:That is all I ever do. But if your motherboard has EFI then you will also need an ESP partition.


Interesting, I did not know that yet. I have never had to deal with EFI.


Here is a snapshot of my Zorin drive:

esp.jpg
https://vimeo.com/user15592214
https://www.deviantart.com/swarfendor437
https://trisquel.info/

Machine: ASUS X470-PRO, AMD Ryzen 7 1700X 8 Core, 16 Gb RAM, ZOTAC Geforce GT1030 (2 Gb)
User avatar
Swarfendor437
 
Posts: 11875
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:51 pm

Re: [SOLVED] not enough free space on /boot

Postby carmar » Mon May 11, 2020 4:43 pm

Sorry to necropost. I was installing Core on my niece's laptop - Satellite p55w-c5316: https://support.dynabook.com/support/st ... Link=false

I turned off UEFI. On install, after setting root and home, the setup insisted I set aside space for boot. Hadisch had suggested up to 2GB and I didn't know how to set the boot, esp flags so I arbitrarily picked 10GB (certainly not the mean between Swarf's 100GB and Hadisch's upper estimate) and then selected "Reserve for Boot" - or something like that selection in the drop down menu. What should I have done correctly?
User avatar
carmar
 
Posts: 188
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2019 4:02 pm

Re: [SOLVED] not enough free space on /boot

Postby Aravisian » Mon May 11, 2020 8:00 pm

carmar wrote:Sorry to necropost. I was installing Core on my niece's laptop - Satellite p55w-c5316: https://support.dynabook.com/support/st ... Link=false

I turned off UEFI. On install, after setting root and home, the setup insisted I set aside space for boot. Hadisch had suggested up to 2GB and I didn't know how to set the boot, esp flags so I arbitrarily picked 10GB (certainly not the mean between Swarf's 100GB and Hadisch's upper estimate) and then selected "Reserve for Boot" - or something like that selection in the drop down menu. What should I have done correctly?

For me, 10gigs would be more than enough. I have noticed that others seem to install a lot more software and need more space (Or they install a bunch of stuff that they never remove). I am probably using about 2 gigs for root, now... But when I first started using Zorin, it was closer to 5gigs, with Home using another 5 or 6 gigs.
Fifty gigs should be plenty enough for any average user.
User avatar
Aravisian
 
Posts: 1795
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2018 6:51 am

Re: [SOLVED] not enough free space on /boot

Postby Swarfendor437 » Mon May 11, 2020 8:57 pm

carmar wrote:Sorry to necropost. I was installing Core on my niece's laptop - Satellite p55w-c5316: https://support.dynabook.com/support/st ... Link=false

I turned off UEFI. On install, after setting root and home, the setup insisted I set aside space for boot. Hadisch had suggested up to 2GB and I didn't know how to set the boot, esp flags so I arbitrarily picked 10GB (certainly not the mean between Swarf's 100GB and Hadisch's upper estimate) and then selected "Reserve for Boot" - or something like that selection in the drop down menu. What should I have done correctly?


That was an install error on my part - must have been nodding off when I wanted it to be 100 Mb! :lol: :oops:
https://vimeo.com/user15592214
https://www.deviantart.com/swarfendor437
https://trisquel.info/

Machine: ASUS X470-PRO, AMD Ryzen 7 1700X 8 Core, 16 Gb RAM, ZOTAC Geforce GT1030 (2 Gb)
User avatar
Swarfendor437
 
Posts: 11875
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:51 pm

Re: [SOLVED] not enough free space on /boot

Postby carmar » Mon May 11, 2020 10:31 pm

Thanks to you both.
Actually, I set her root to 100GB - she's not gonna install anything without me knowing (or if she does there is still an obscene amount of space) but she has a 1TB whopper of a drive so I figured why not. After 24GB swap she had ~800GB still left for home. Even then install still asked me for boot space and that is where I picked 10GB just for boot.

Could you still explain to me how to set "boot, esp" flags or should I not worry about that?
User avatar
carmar
 
Posts: 188
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2019 4:02 pm

Re: [SOLVED] not enough free space on /boot

Postby Swarfendor437 » Tue May 12, 2020 3:54 pm

Hi, It should show up when you install as one of the options in respect of 'esp' should show up if you have EFI enabled in the BIOS. Whilst i am now steering well clear of Makulu - one of it's install features was a reminder if you hadn't created an EFI partition, the same with FerenOS.
https://vimeo.com/user15592214
https://www.deviantart.com/swarfendor437
https://trisquel.info/

Machine: ASUS X470-PRO, AMD Ryzen 7 1700X 8 Core, 16 Gb RAM, ZOTAC Geforce GT1030 (2 Gb)
User avatar
Swarfendor437
 
Posts: 11875
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:51 pm
PreviousNext

Return to Help and Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests