This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Cannot boot after automatic firmware update failed

zorinblimp

Sat Apr 25, 2020 1:37:54 am

Hello,

I am new to Zorin, I have been running 15.2 on a Dell E7470 laptop for a few days. (Working great, I might add!)

I had been letting the software updater run updates as it needed to automatically.

The most recent update downloads included an update for Zorin and what I believe to be a firmware update for the E7x70 series of Dell laptops. I accepted all of those updates and attempted a restart.

However, upon restart, the laptop boots to a Dell screen, then the Zorin splash screen, then back to a Dell screen and hangs. Disk activity ceases at that point.

In the BIOS there are two entries under the UEFI, one is called Linux firmware update, The other one is Ubuntu which points to EFI/shimx64.efi

If I press f12 on boot and pick the firmware update boot option, boot fails and lists three options:

Press F1 key to retry boot
Press F2 key to reboot into setup
Press F5 key to run onboard diagnostics

I put my live USB in and booted from that, attempted a repair of grub, that failed with an error, I have included the link to the pastebin:

http://paste.ubuntu.com/p/k6HJR5cWT5/

Thanks in advance for your help getting this laptop back up and running!

Swarfendor437

Sun Apr 26, 2020 12:47:26 pm

Is Windows still on this rig or did you remove it? Looking at the spec sheet it states it has an SSD - is that correct? What version of Windows is / was present? Any dell updates usually require Windows to be present which could be the reason why the firmware update failed - or was that coming through the Software Update which seems strange to me. ;)

zorinblimp

Sun Apr 26, 2020 11:51:01 pm