This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Resetting the screen resolution

grimtraveller

Tue Apr 28, 2020 9:58:02 pm

Hi folks,
I'm a new member and I'm also new to Linux. I'm not particularly computer savvy when it comes to all the internal workings and the jargon that goes with it. Please, any replies, questions or info, imagine you're talking to a 9 year old that knows nothing about computers. I won't be offended !
I recently installed Zorin OS 15 Lite and I'm having a really difficult time resetting my screen resolution. It is stuck at 640x480 and I want to get it to 1024x768. I've been trying for weeks and no matter what I do, nothing works. I've tried the xrandr method, no joy. I've tried the resetting in GRUB, no joy. I've installed Nvidia again, nothing. I've gone into the settings editor and I find there that where there are resolution settings, I can change them and "save" them but it makes no difference.
Originally, I was going for a resolution of 1280x1024 and after nothing happening on a few occasions, on just one occasion the screen defaulted to 1024x768 {which is acceptable to me} and I thought "at last !" but when I rebooted the computer, it was back to 640x480 and has never left there, despite me resetting in the settings and in the terminal. The terminal continually tells me that 640x480 is the minimum and maximum setting {which I know is not true} and also keeps telling me that the resolutions I want aren't found.
It's really frustrating :? because certain pages cannot be seen in their fullness because they are literally off the screen and even zooming down makes no difference. Part of the page is still off the screen and of course the lettering is so small that it can't be read !