This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Internet Issue

countrygeekpc

Fri May 23, 2014 4:38:01 am

I have tried the live cd/usb on three different machines and I am unable to use the internet. So I installed it to one PC and still have the same issue.

If I type http://www.google.com into the address bar I can get to google, but anything past that gives me a "Aw, Snap" message in Chrome. If I try to go thru the software center to download anything it fails every time.
I have tried both the 64-bit and 32-bit versions.

I am new to Linux/Zorin and I am at a complete loss. Anyone have any ideas where I move forward form here?

Wolfman

Fri May 23, 2014 4:55:29 am

Hi,

are you using a laptop/notebook/netbook with WiFi or a network cable?. Have you clicked on the network icon in the panel and is it "Enabled"?.

If you are using WiFi, check out this post about using "Ndiswrapper" (#2) here:

viewtopic.php?f=5&t=7488

Are you using an older modem?, are you on a network?.

madvinegar

Fri May 23, 2014 5:36:00 am

Can you please post back the result of:

lspci -nnk | grep -iA2 net

countrygeekpc

Fri May 23, 2014 1:28:25 pm

Wolfman wrote:Hi,

are you using a laptop/notebook/netbook with WiFi or a network cable?. Have you clicked on the network icon in the panel and is it "Enabled"?.

If you are using WiFi, check out this post about using "Ndiswrapper" (#2) here:

viewtopic.php?f=5&t=7488

Are you using an older modem?, are you on a network?.

Connected hardwired to a Cisco DPC3825 (modem/router) and all 3 PCs are desktop/towers.
I don't have any issue with LinuxMint or openSUSE.

countrygeekpc

Fri May 23, 2014 2:10:14 pm

madvinegar wrote:Can you please post back the result of:

lspci -nnk | grep -iA2 net

live@live:~$ lspci -nnk | grep -iA2 net