Yes - you can still use ifconfig for network info ...

Yes - you can still use ifconfig for network info ...

Postby Swarfendor437 » Sat Mar 30, 2019 2:28 pm

Here's how:

Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install net-tools


after install:

Code: Select all
sudo ifconfig


All your network connections/macaddress and ip codes will show. ;) :D

Particularly useful if you are using Zorin Connect which may need ip address of machine you are needing to connect to.
https://vimeo.com/user15592214
https://trisquel.info/
https://www.opendesktop.org/member/257685/

Machine: ASUS X470-PRO, AMD Ryzen 7 1700X 8 Core, 16 Gb RAM, ZOTAC Geforce GT1030 (2 Gb)
User avatar
Swarfendor437
 
Posts: 9865
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:51 pm

Re: Yes - you can still use ifconfig for network info ...

Postby gpcraft » Sun Jun 02, 2019 12:56 am

Hello to the group. I just started working with this OS. Smart but you have to work with it. Anyway about wireless subject. you need to get window driver for your system. Zorin will install the Windows installer. Check out Zorin OS.com for some info.
User avatar
gpcraft
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2019 2:21 am

Re: Yes - you can still use ifconfig for network info ...

Postby Swarfendor437 » Mon Jun 03, 2019 1:18 pm

gpcraft wrote:Hello to the group. I just started working with this OS. Smart but you have to work with it. Anyway about wireless subject. you need to get window driver for your system. Zorin will install the Windows installer. Check out Zorin OS.com for some info.


Wireless works out of the box on an old Dell Latitude E6500! ;) :D
https://vimeo.com/user15592214
https://trisquel.info/
https://www.opendesktop.org/member/257685/

Machine: ASUS X470-PRO, AMD Ryzen 7 1700X 8 Core, 16 Gb RAM, ZOTAC Geforce GT1030 (2 Gb)
User avatar
Swarfendor437
 
Posts: 9865
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:51 pm

Return to How-tos and Tutorials

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests