[STICKY] How to get full root privileges through Terminal

[STICKY] How to get full root privileges through Terminal

Postby madvinegar » Sat May 05, 2012 8:23 pm

Instructions:
You have first to create a "unix" password.

Open terminal and write
Code: Select all
sudo passwd

and click <enter>

You will be asked for your normal user password. You write it and click <enter>
You will then be asked to select a new "unix" password. You think of one, you write it and click <enter>.
You will then be asked to re-write your "unix" password for confirmation purposes. You write it again and click <enter>.
If all has gone well you will get a message saying that the unix password has been updated succesfully.

And that's it.

Next time you want to become "root" in terminal, you open terminal and write:
Code: Select all
su
and click <enter>
You will then be asked for your unix password, you write it and click <enter>

After that, your terminal should look something like:
Code: Select all
root@<username>:

and you will be having full administration rights.
Zorin 9 - Ultimate Edition 64bit
Intel Core2 Duo CPU T5550 1.83GHz ‖ RAM 3008 MiB ‖ Acer Aspire 5920G
Mobility Radeon HD 3470 [1002:95c4] {radeon}
Intel PRO/Wireless 3945ABG [Golan] Network Connection [8086:4222] (rev 02)
Blog: https://madvinegar.wordpress.com
User avatar
madvinegar
 
Posts: 2541
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 12:18 pm

Re: [STICKY] How to get full root privileges through Termina

Postby Wolfman » Sun May 06, 2012 5:53 am

Hi chaps,

an info link to widen the scope so to speak:

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/RootSudo

Regards Wolfman :D
Regards Wolfman :D

Kindness is something the blind can see and the deaf can hear :)

Preparation and planning prevent poor performance! :)

Free Ubuntu User Manual: https://ubuntu-manual.org/
User avatar
Wolfman
 
Posts: 7611
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 1:03 pm

Re: [STICKY] How to get full root privileges through Termina

Postby IzayoiAki » Tue May 22, 2012 1:37 pm

And also, make sure you know the risks of what you're doing. By enabling the root user like this, you're enabling people to log into your machine (e.g. via ssh) as root. Only enable root if you absolutely have to -- there's a reason why linux distros like Zorin ship with root disabled.... :P
「冷たい炎が世界の全てを包み込む。漆黒の華よ、開け!シンクロ召喚!現れよ、《ブラック・ローズ・ドラゴン》!」
User avatar
IzayoiAki
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 8:31 am

Re: [STICKY] How to get full root privileges through Termina

Postby shrinivas » Thu May 24, 2012 5:37 am

Thank you for this. Sometimes you need this root privileges.
I recently downloaded and installed Zorin 6 RC-Lite, it is a beautiful, fast distro !
Regards
Shrinivas from India
User avatar
shrinivas
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 23, 2012 10:35 am

Re: [STICKY] How to get full root privileges through Termina

Postby Wolfman » Thu May 24, 2012 6:25 am

Hi Shrinivas from India and welcome to the forum :D :D :D

Regards Wolfman :D
Regards Wolfman :D

Kindness is something the blind can see and the deaf can hear :)

Preparation and planning prevent poor performance! :)

Free Ubuntu User Manual: https://ubuntu-manual.org/
User avatar
Wolfman
 
Posts: 7611
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 1:03 pm

Re: [STICKY] How to get full root privileges through Termina

Postby drooney57 » Wed Sep 10, 2014 6:18 pm

Hello,
I have used Linux for many years, mostly Red-Hat and Cent-OS, I have used Ubuntu some and am real new to Zorin.
I am trying to unlock the root account, I tried the normal things, but if I do sudo, I get:
sudo: unable to change to sudoers gid: Operation not permitted.
This works in Ubuntu, why does it fail in Zorin?

Thank you

Dr Doug
User avatar
drooney57
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2014 6:05 pm

Re: [STICKY] How to get full root privileges through Termina

Postby Linx » Mon Jan 05, 2015 4:18 am

Another simple way is to do this.
Code: Select all
sudo su
Then you will be prompted or your password, and bam, you will have root access!

Also @IzayoiAki, Zorin9 does not ship with ssh server preinstalled =P

However risk are still present, anytime you make an outbound connection, if there is a security hole the in application you are using then you could be creating a connection some bad guy can see and exploit (in the form of a backdoor) to gain access to your system as root. Or when you run anything as root without knowning the code, it can create a backdoor and connection to something without your knowhow.
User avatar
Linx
 
Posts: 277
Joined: Wed May 25, 2011 7:19 pm

Re: [STICKY] How to get full root privileges through Termina

Postby lesmacdee » Fri Jan 08, 2016 6:22 am

I run LAMP for PHP webpage files. To add www and html folders in the /var folder, I have needed root privileges in Ubuntu based Linux for some time now. Is there another way to create those folders? I prefer not to use root if possible.
User avatar
lesmacdee
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2016 6:07 am
Location: Australia

Return to How-tos and Tutorials

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests