swarfendor437's miscellania ...

swarfendor437's miscellania ...

Postby Swarfendor437 » Sat Oct 17, 2015 11:11 am

This thread will accumulate various 'tips and tricks' with ZorinOS with screenshots. For this reason, the thread will be locked for responses so please don't post here - ask elsewhere please! ;) :D

If any posts do show up they will get deleted! :D
https://vimeo.com/user15592214
https://trisquel.info/
https://www.opendesktop.org/member/257685/

Machine: ASUS X470-PRO, AMD Ryzen 7 1700X 8 Core, 16 Gb RAM, ZOTAC Geforce GT1030 (2 Gb)
User avatar
Swarfendor437
 
Posts: 9995
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:51 pm

Removing apps via the terminal permanently ...

Postby Swarfendor437 » Sat Oct 17, 2015 11:26 am

Well a bit of background, I decided not to dual-boot with Windows 7 any more and put Zorin on an older drive in my hot-bay - which was ear-marked for Win10 but forgot this is on an old 'fatter' drive so a recycled ExcelStor drive from the youngest's machine. Zorin 9 was not playing nice with Cairo-Dock so I am back using Zorin 10 which my video tutorial was used for in producing Zorin - Updates and tweaks video https://vimeo.com/135585793 where I found that VLGothic font is much more suited to the terminal.
Back to business:

1. Removing packages you are not going to use (in this example it is Zorin 32-bit Ultimate) and in this instance this is down to my personal preferences, i.e., stuff I don't want on the machine which in turn will also reduce the amount of updates coming through so this might be worth doing BEFORE you start updating your system after first install.

So the best way to remove packages COMPLETELY is to use the 'purge' command in the Terminal (Ctrl+ Alt+ T or in Zorin 9 Menu | Accessories | Terminal or in Zorin 10 Menu | System Tools | Terminal)

Not sure what each program is named for 'Terminal' purposes? Well select the 'Z' Menu button, go to the Application Group e.g., Games, Office, select an application by right-clicking and select 'send to desktop.

Once there, right-click the shortcut on the desktop and select properties. In the screenshot I have selected 'homebank'. [I NEVER use internet banking - here in the UK the consumer body 'Which?' did a survey a couple of years ago and even the most secure banks only got an 81% security rating which speaks volumes in itself!)

Notice in the terminal you can select more than one application you no longer require - you just have to ensure that you add a space between each one - this also works in reverse if you know the name of the application you want to install - if 'apt' does not find it it may well provide you with a named suggestion - go with that if it finds one.

Here is the screenshot: [If there is no screenshot it is because I will be installing another browser other than Firefox that works!]

removing software via terminal.jpg


Well it has worked because I am using Zorin 10! I shall probably stick with this beyond end-of-life until Zorin 11 comes out, the next LTS I suspect! ;-)

[Note: homebank should have been 'HomeBank' - unusual to see capitals for apps in the Terminal! trigger should have been 'trigger-rally' and mines 'gnome-mines'! and it appears you cannot use a 'list of apps' as before! After you have used the 'purge' command you will also need to use:

Code: Select all
sudo apt-get autoremove
to remove any associated files/folders, principally 'game data' in respect of games such as 'xonotic' etc. so if you get this prompt, do it! :D
https://vimeo.com/user15592214
https://trisquel.info/
https://www.opendesktop.org/member/257685/

Machine: ASUS X470-PRO, AMD Ryzen 7 1700X 8 Core, 16 Gb RAM, ZOTAC Geforce GT1030 (2 Gb)
User avatar
Swarfendor437
 
Posts: 9995
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:51 pm

Adding GnoMenu and additional awn applets ...

Postby Swarfendor437 » Sat Oct 17, 2015 1:26 pm

In another post I pointed to an ubuntu site which stores both i386 (32-bit) and 64-bit AWN applets.

I had archived the originals I downloaded - some minor ones will not install because they are/were dependent upon Gnome 2 - most GNU/Linux distributions are now using Gnome 3, including Zorin. For the ones that are 'out-of-date' 'gdebi' will notify you of this. 'gdebi' is not present in the Zorin .iso's so you will need to add it after installation via a terminal:

Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install gdebi


Then when installing .deb packages, right-click them and select 'open with ...' and choose 'gdebi'. gdebi is excellent at notifying you of any missing dependencies and/or whether a package will install or otherwise.

In the screenshot provided I show this (see window open top left - click on the 'close' button, then click on 'Download Package' - this will automatically download the package right next to the original one in your Downloads folder, then click on install to install the latest package:

[Uploads have stopped working - back to Opera 12.16!!!]
Attachments
38.jpg
https://vimeo.com/user15592214
https://trisquel.info/
https://www.opendesktop.org/member/257685/

Machine: ASUS X470-PRO, AMD Ryzen 7 1700X 8 Core, 16 Gb RAM, ZOTAC Geforce GT1030 (2 Gb)
User avatar
Swarfendor437
 
Posts: 9995
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:51 pm

Re: swarfendor437's miscellania ...

Postby Swarfendor437 » Fri Oct 30, 2015 11:47 am

Interesting article on search engines here:

http://www.usatoday.com/story/tech/colu ... /74408908/
https://vimeo.com/user15592214
https://trisquel.info/
https://www.opendesktop.org/member/257685/

Machine: ASUS X470-PRO, AMD Ryzen 7 1700X 8 Core, 16 Gb RAM, ZOTAC Geforce GT1030 (2 Gb)
User avatar
Swarfendor437
 
Posts: 9995
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:51 pm

Re: swarfendor437's miscellania ...

Postby Swarfendor437 » Sat Nov 14, 2015 8:29 pm

Interesting documntation on EFI (Secure boot) here:

http://www.rodsbooks.com/efi-bootloaders/index.html
https://vimeo.com/user15592214
https://trisquel.info/
https://www.opendesktop.org/member/257685/

Machine: ASUS X470-PRO, AMD Ryzen 7 1700X 8 Core, 16 Gb RAM, ZOTAC Geforce GT1030 (2 Gb)
User avatar
Swarfendor437
 
Posts: 9995
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:51 pm

Re: swarfendor437's miscellania ...

Postby Swarfendor437 » Sat Nov 21, 2015 9:25 pm

Safely remove Zeitgeist spyware from Zorin Core/Ultimate:

https://askubuntu.com/questions/45548/d ... -zeitgeist

Open a terminal (Ctrl+ Alt+ T or Menu | Accessories | Terminal) and enter:

Code: Select all
sudo apt-get remove zeitgeist zeitgeist-datahub zeitgeist-core


[Note: Wolfman has provided different method needed for users of Zorin Lite]
https://vimeo.com/user15592214
https://trisquel.info/
https://www.opendesktop.org/member/257685/

Machine: ASUS X470-PRO, AMD Ryzen 7 1700X 8 Core, 16 Gb RAM, ZOTAC Geforce GT1030 (2 Gb)
User avatar
Swarfendor437
 
Posts: 9995
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:51 pm

Re: swarfendor437's miscellania ...

Postby Swarfendor437 » Sun Nov 22, 2015 1:09 am

Well installed Zorin 9 Ultimate (32-bit) once more tonight and decided to browse the Software Centre to see what was under the 'Installed' tab and removed the following to see if I could 'break' Zorin:

Code: Select all
Items removed:

ACCESSORIES

Activity Journal

Akonaditray with Kraft

Nepomuk Backup

Synergy

Activities and Privacy Manager Tool

Deja Dup Backup Tool

Bluetooth Transfer

DEVELOPER TOOLS

Left alone as not sure might have a knockon on other packages

GAMES

Sudoku

Mines (gnome-mines)

Xmoto

PlayOnLinux

Frets on Fire

Trigger

Warzone 2100

GRAPHICS

Nothing removed

INTERNET

Thunderbird Email

Gobby Collaborative Editor (0.5)

KNetAttach (Personal accounting software - eqonomize, kdenlive, debug package manager for kubuntu, Batch package manager for kde)

Transmission BitTorrent

OFFICE

HomeBank

LibreOffice Base

wxBanker Finance Manager

SOUND AND VIDEO

Left alone - except for Kdenlive which went with KNetAttach!


THEMES AND TWEAKS

Left alone

UNIVERSAL ACCESS

Left Alone

UNCATEGORISED

Gnome Flashback Services - Screensaver and locker addon removed

Reactivate HP Laserjet 1018/1020 after reloading paper

KMailService

Unity 8

Evolution Data Server


The main problem that happened was loss of 'System Settings' in that only 4 or 5 items remained! I got System Settings back by having to reinstall 'Unity':

15.jpg


12.png
https://vimeo.com/user15592214
https://trisquel.info/
https://www.opendesktop.org/member/257685/

Machine: ASUS X470-PRO, AMD Ryzen 7 1700X 8 Core, 16 Gb RAM, ZOTAC Geforce GT1030 (2 Gb)
User avatar
Swarfendor437
 
Posts: 9995
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:51 pm

Re: swarfendor437's miscellania ...

Postby Swarfendor437 » Sun Nov 22, 2015 2:12 pm

OK, so I installed Opera from the 'Zorin Web Browser Manager' customised the search engines and even after deleting 'Google' and other search engines it kept coming back. I decided to uninstall it and download the 'official' opera package from here:
Attachments
13.jpg
https://vimeo.com/user15592214
https://trisquel.info/
https://www.opendesktop.org/member/257685/

Machine: ASUS X470-PRO, AMD Ryzen 7 1700X 8 Core, 16 Gb RAM, ZOTAC Geforce GT1030 (2 Gb)
User avatar
Swarfendor437
 
Posts: 9995
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:51 pm

Re: swarfendor437's miscellania ...

Postby Swarfendor437 » Sun Nov 22, 2015 2:19 pm

Some issues with the above image not showing in submit window at all!

Here is the rest of the Opera post:

After download and install I was still getting Google as default - then I remembered, had to delete the 'hidden' '.opera' file in my '/home' folder. When you install the official Opera 12.16 from Opera.com with gdebi you will get a message to say that it already exists in the software channel - (but we don't know how it has been tweaked do we?) Also after some updates I found the 'Google' certificate of authenticity back in 'Authentication' tab in 'Software Updater | Settings button'!

Why Opera inistead of Firefox? Well it is not just in this distro but Firefox, ABrowser (Browser in Zorin 10!), Midori, IceCat will NOT upload images!

https://ixquick.com is now my default search engine! ;-) :D
https://vimeo.com/user15592214
https://trisquel.info/
https://www.opendesktop.org/member/257685/

Machine: ASUS X470-PRO, AMD Ryzen 7 1700X 8 Core, 16 Gb RAM, ZOTAC Geforce GT1030 (2 Gb)
User avatar
Swarfendor437
 
Posts: 9995
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:51 pm

Re: swarfendor437's miscellania ...

Postby Swarfendor437 » Sun Nov 22, 2015 3:58 pm

You too can have the joy of Cinammon DE - it had been pulled by Ubuntu but you can get it back - see here:

http://www.omgubuntu.co.uk/2014/07/new- ... ppa-stable

which links to here:

https://launchpad.net/~lestcape/+archiv ... u/cinnamon


Open a terminal and add the repository:

Code: Select all
sudo add-apt-repository ppa:lestcape/cinnamon


you will be asked for your login password, then update:

Code: Select all
sudo apt-get update


Then open 'synaptic package manager' and search for 'Cinammon' - you will need to ensure you install 'Cinammon Session'! :) :D

Update: Tried this [http://www.omgubuntu.co.uk/2016/04/how-to-install-cinnamon-3-0-on-ubuntu] in Zorin 11 and it did not work as repos marked as outdated - just trying this for 16.04 (Yes I know Zorin 11 is based on 15.10! :D )
https://vimeo.com/user15592214
https://trisquel.info/
https://www.opendesktop.org/member/257685/

Machine: ASUS X470-PRO, AMD Ryzen 7 1700X 8 Core, 16 Gb RAM, ZOTAC Geforce GT1030 (2 Gb)
User avatar
Swarfendor437
 
Posts: 9995
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:51 pm
Next

Return to How-tos and Tutorials

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests