If you have Virtual Box installed, upgrade to 6.1 now

If you have Virtual Box installed, upgrade to 6.1 now

Postby Swarfendor437 » Fri Jan 24, 2020 2:24 pm

Fellow Zoriners,

A few days ago, whilst trying to answer a Zorin Lite query, I tried to launch my VM of it in VB - failed to launch, as did any other VM I have. So go to the official Oracle website and download 6.1 at your earliest convenience, together with the Extension Pack which you will need for things like USB3 support et. ;) :D
https://vimeo.com/user15592214
https://www.deviantart.com/swarfendor437
https://trisquel.info/

Machine: ASUS X470-PRO, AMD Ryzen 7 1700X 8 Core, 16 Gb RAM, ZOTAC Geforce GT1030 (2 Gb)
User avatar
Swarfendor437
 
Posts: 11901
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:51 pm

Re: If you have Virtual Box installed, upgrade to 6.1 now

Postby plexorite » Thu Mar 19, 2020 9:44 pm

Thank you! :-)
User avatar
plexorite
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2018 12:36 pm

Re: If you have Virtual Box installed, upgrade to 6.1 now

Postby TallTim327 » Thu Mar 19, 2020 10:42 pm

Hey so I just tried to install Virtualbox-6.1 from the command line terminal: sudo apt-get update then sudo apt-get install virtualbox-6.1 I get this error pkgProblemResolver, it won't update...?
User avatar
TallTim327
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2020 6:12 am

Re: If you have Virtual Box installed, upgrade to 6.1 now

Postby Swarfendor437 » Fri Mar 20, 2020 1:08 am

TallTim327 wrote:Hey so I just tried to install Virtualbox-6.1 from the command line terminal: sudo apt-get update then sudo apt-get install virtualbox-6.1 I get this error pkgProblemResolver, it won't update...?


Hi, Latest releases are not in Software - you have to download the .deb packages directly from Oracle's website. ;) :D
https://vimeo.com/user15592214
https://www.deviantart.com/swarfendor437
https://trisquel.info/

Machine: ASUS X470-PRO, AMD Ryzen 7 1700X 8 Core, 16 Gb RAM, ZOTAC Geforce GT1030 (2 Gb)
User avatar
Swarfendor437
 
Posts: 11901
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:51 pm

Re: If you have Virtual Box installed, upgrade to 6.1 now

Postby Daqutto » Tue Apr 28, 2020 10:44 am

Thank you! Will do it today
User avatar
Daqutto
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2020 10:42 am

Re: If you have Virtual Box installed, upgrade to 6.1 now

Postby FurryFennec » Mon May 04, 2020 3:39 pm

After removing the 5.x series version installed with Zorin using the Software app, I followed the instructions at https://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Linux_Downloads Go to section for Debian distributions, choosing bionic as the in the deb line to add to /etc/apt/sources.list. e.g.
Code: Select all
deb https://download.virtualbox.org/virtualbox/debian bionic contrib
Worked like a charm! Don't forget also to download the vbox extensions at https://download.virtualbox.org/virtualbox/6.1.6/Oracle_VM_VirtualBox_Extension_Pack-6.1.6.vbox-extpack
User avatar
FurryFennec
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2020 1:36 am

Re: If you have Virtual Box installed, upgrade to 6.1 now

Postby Aravisian » Tue May 05, 2020 1:26 am

FurryFennec wrote:After removing the 5.x series version installed with Zorin using the Software app, I followed the instructions at https://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Linux_Downloads Go to section for Debian distributions, choosing bionic as the in the deb line to add to /etc/apt/sources.list. e.g.
Code: Select all
deb https://download.virtualbox.org/virtualbox/debian bionic contrib
Worked like a charm! Don't forget also to download the vbox extensions at https://download.virtualbox.org/virtualbox/6.1.6/Oracle_VM_VirtualBox_Extension_Pack-6.1.6.vbox-extpack

Thanks for the great tip. Updates like this really help prevent confusion. :D
User avatar
Aravisian
 
Posts: 1816
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2018 6:51 am

Re: If you have Virtual Box installed, upgrade to 6.1 now

Postby linux-man » Tue Jun 23, 2020 10:43 am

Swarfendor437 wrote:Fellow Zoriners,

A few days ago, whilst trying to answer a Zorin Lite query, I tried to launch my VM of it in VB - failed to launch, as did any other VM I have. So go to the official Oracle website and download 6.1 at your earliest convenience, together with the Extension Pack which you will need for things like USB3 support et. ;) :D

I have version 5.1.4, it appears to working fine with zorin vm, should I still upgrade?
User avatar
linux-man
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2019 1:19 am

Re: If you have Virtual Box installed, upgrade to 6.1 now

Postby Swarfendor437 » Tue Jun 23, 2020 1:13 pm

If you are happy with it, by all means keep using it but there might be advantages of updating from a security point of view. VB site offers earlier versions to download anyway. One of the reasons I updated my version was because VMs were failing to launch until I upgraded. ;) :D
https://vimeo.com/user15592214
https://www.deviantart.com/swarfendor437
https://trisquel.info/

Machine: ASUS X470-PRO, AMD Ryzen 7 1700X 8 Core, 16 Gb RAM, ZOTAC Geforce GT1030 (2 Gb)
User avatar
Swarfendor437
 
Posts: 11901
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:51 pm

Return to Brainstorm

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest