Upgrading to Zorin OS 15

Re: Upgrading to Zorin OS 15

Postby tambler » Tue Apr 30, 2019 1:44 am

@Swarfendor437

When we have Core installed, will it be possible to upgrade to Ultimate and preserve settings and apps or will we have to start from scratch?

@chrissi55

Deja Dup is great for backing up /home but in addition you might like to use Aptik for other selected items as it lets you pick and choose.
Machine for Zorin 15: Fujitsu Esprimo P700 Intel(R) Pentium(R) CPU G6 8GB RAM
User avatar
tambler
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2017 4:11 pm

Re: Upgrading to Zorin OS 15

Postby Swarfendor437 » Tue Apr 30, 2019 10:00 pm

AZorin made it clear, beta core only - if you want ultimate you may have to start from scratch - alternatively, just install the apps you have on a 12.4 install using Synaptic Package Manager. ;) :D

But for a definitive answer, PM AZorin. ;)
https://vimeo.com/user15592214
https://trisquel.info/
https://www.opendesktop.org/member/257685/

Machine: ASUS X470-PRO, AMD Ryzen 7 1700X 8 Core, 16 Gb RAM, ZOTAC Geforce GT1030 (2 Gb)
User avatar
Swarfendor437
 
Posts: 10180
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:51 pm

Re: Upgrading to Zorin OS 15

Postby zabadabadoo » Wed May 08, 2019 3:52 pm

Swarfendor437 wrote:Primarily for apps and perhaps system specific applications. If you were to install Zorin 15 without doing anything it would potentially create a new /home which would ignore your existing one. I would advise you back up everything in /home, wipe your drive and start afresh using the manual installation method. ;) :D


@Swarfendor: I guess things have now moved a bit your end. I am referring to:
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=14472
From that, it would appears that we may be able to update from Zorin 12 to 15 without reformatting our /home partition.
I however accept the caveat that it is wise to backup /home anyhow before doing this.
For me the update would be from 12.4 Core 32bit to 15 Core 64bit when the final version is released. Only after successfully running 15 Core beta from USB did I discover my PC was capable of running a 64bit OS.
User avatar
zabadabadoo
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2018 6:20 pm

Re: Upgrading to Zorin OS 15

Postby Swarfendor437 » Wed May 08, 2019 7:05 pm

@zabadabadoo, so long as you have created your partition/install manually as opposed to automatic install, in theory it should still work, but I would still backup beforehand. My tutorial was to show users how it is possible to reinstall the file system ('/') without deleting/formatting the '/home' directory. I also discovered upon reinstalling Thuderbird, the settings (including account settings) remained intact. ;) :D
https://vimeo.com/user15592214
https://trisquel.info/
https://www.opendesktop.org/member/257685/

Machine: ASUS X470-PRO, AMD Ryzen 7 1700X 8 Core, 16 Gb RAM, ZOTAC Geforce GT1030 (2 Gb)
User avatar
Swarfendor437
 
Posts: 10180
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:51 pm

Re: Upgrading to Zorin OS 15

Postby rsd45 » Sun May 26, 2019 4:02 pm

I just wish people would stop asking dumb questions.

If you have installed Zorin OS 15 beta, installing Software Updates will bring you fully up to date with the stable Core edition of Zorin OS 15 when released.

If you have any other release, do a clean install at the stable release.

It ain't that difficult to understand.
User avatar
rsd45
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 06, 2016 9:29 pm

Re: Upgrading to Zorin OS 15

Postby chrissi55 » Sat Jun 01, 2019 7:26 am

I did my Backup now with "lucky backup"

Tool is using rsync and i can finetune everything. with lucky backup (root) i also can backup my /etc/... /opt and /usr/share/.... directories.

http://luckybackup.sourceforge.net/download.html
User avatar
chrissi55
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2017 3:43 pm

Re: Upgrading to Zorin OS 15

Postby Swarfendor437 » Sun Jun 02, 2019 11:37 am

With redobackup you can backup your entire system!

https://sourceforge.net/projects/redobackup/files/
https://vimeo.com/user15592214
https://trisquel.info/
https://www.opendesktop.org/member/257685/

Machine: ASUS X470-PRO, AMD Ryzen 7 1700X 8 Core, 16 Gb RAM, ZOTAC Geforce GT1030 (2 Gb)
User avatar
Swarfendor437
 
Posts: 10180
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:51 pm
Previous

Return to Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests